Stuck in the Middle and Screwed

Honesty is a beautiful thing.

As someone who has worked in both healthcare and sales fields, this idea is most paramount to me. My goal is to be as honest to you, whoever you are, reading this. This is the only space I have to be utterly honest to myself. There’s that.

A far greater character than I once said, “allow myself to introduce…myself…” I am going to be 29 in less than one month, I am engaged to the love of my life, I have a wonderful family, and I have been inserting needles in people pretty much for the last ten years.

This is my first (and probably only) blog. I am not doing this in the hopes that some publisher will recruit me as the next Elizabeth Wurtzel. I am not doing this to share fashion photos or cooking advice; God knows, I am lacking in both areas. I do not expect Amy Adams to play my character in the next ten years, the girl covering her acne spots in a covered garage at 428 am and pouring baby powder all over her dirty roots because there’s frankly no time for a shower. I’m writing just to write, and to talk. To you. To all of you, if you’ll participate.

Do you like what you do for a living? I don’t. My job feels like a prison. I feel like I’m being punished for something.  A lot of you probably feel the same way.

So here is the long-short of it all.

We all have dreams. What do you want to be when you grow up? Google is wonderful in that you can access any article you desire.From a quick search, I learned that most of us in the US of a certain age (the Millenial Generation; 18-32) are struggling with home ownership of any kind. According to the Pew Report from 2013, over a third of our generation is still living with their parents. And although the “dream job” area differentiates wildly per culture, most US teens have been quoted as giving up their “dream job” for something more pragmatic.

I was that teen. I don’t blame my parents for what they suggested.

But somehow, I am in dialysis and I can’t take it anymore.

The lies, the nonsense of insurance, the story of each and every one of these patients…People I see all the time, who trust me. I had to have a place to speak.

Please talk to me.Talk to me about the shit with your job that renders you speechless and powerless. lets be a force together that can change things.

Leave a Reply

